Arduino-Atom-VScode-Platformio-Marlin

Just so you all know, I am a long time noob to all of this and many things are probably wrong! I have an old Ramps 1.4 board, a new BTT Ramps 1.6+ board, BTT SKR 1.3 board and a GTR 1.0 board.

The Ramps boards are attached to an ATmega 2560 and uses Arduino software. Which can be found at the MS app store (That never works for me) or downloaded from https://www.arduino.cc/.
U8glib Library is needed to load the firmware to your board sandwich.
When your done with the code, you plug the board into your PC. Goto Tools, change the board to ATmega 2560 and find which port your board is.
Then upload with the arrow pointing to the right.
This is literally that easy!

On these SKR 32bit boards they can not be ran on the Arduino software. But it look like the ramps boards can be ran on all software
All over the net you can find videos on how to install
Atom https://atom.io/
VScode https://code.visualstudio.com/

They seem to work exactly the same.
You install the program then download Platformio and follow the prompts. Done!
If it were only that easy.
Looks like Atom is the most popular program. However, Atom doesn’t work with Platformio 2.7.1. Everyone that tries gets errors and the whole program crashes. However, there is a way to install Atom-Terminal, after you figure out how to open that you can install “apm install platformio-ide@2.6.0”. Don’t forget to turn off Auto-Update! You might have to install Clang outside of Atom. https://docs.platformio.org/en/stable/integration/ide/atom.html#installation

Coming in second is VScode. Install that program then install Platformio and done. Super easy! Note: I have no idea if any of the steps above affected VScode working so easy.

Then comes Marlin files with the Platform.ini.
The idea is you open the project folder where the Platform.ini file is located.
Do all the code